Login

Art(PR): Portrait Painting & Drawing - All - CAR15913

Share this activity

Next term start date

25 Sep 2019

Organisation

Adult Education Programme

Activity ref no: CAR15913

Disabled access

Book your place

From: Wednesday 7 August 2019: Book online anytime. Or: telephone; visit in person; between 10.00-16.00: Craigroyston Community High: (0131) 477 7801 (am only); Drummond Community High; (0131) 556 2651; Leith Academy (0131) 553 2810 (telephone only): South Bridge Resource Centre: (0131) 469 3005; or Wester Hailes Education Centre (0131) 621 83 16 (Mon-Thur 10.00-16.00, Fri 10.00-12.00), if a centre is busy, please try calling later

  • Carrickvale Community Centre
    2 Saughton Mains Street,
    Edinburgh
  • Adult Education Programme
  • 16+, Adult, 60+
  • £170.00 for term
  • Wednesday 10:00

Activity description

This course aims to enhance students' skills and understanding of portraiture. ENTRY REQUIREMENTS: It would be useful if students have some basic experience, but not essential. All levels welcome. WHAT YOU CAN EXPECT TO LEARN: By the end of the course, students will have gained an understanding of the human figure, particularly the skull, and of proportion and anatomy, looking at different aspects such as line, tone and structure. Drawing will be explained as a preparation for painting or as an art in its own right, using a variety of media such as pencils, charcoal, pastels, and inks or paints. HOW THE COURSE WILL BE TAUGHT: Individual tuition within a group structure. MATERIALS REQUIRED BY STUDENTS/ADDITIONAL COSTS: A good sketch book and pencils (HB, 2B, 6B) or charcoal and a good eraser/putty rubber will be perfectly adequate for the first session of the course. There may be additional charges for the cost of any other materials supplied by the tutor, but the cost of employing a model is reflected in the Higher Resource Enrolment Fee paid for this course. Students should wait until the course commences to get information/advice from the tutor before purchasing costly materials and to confirm viability of the course. Discount can be obtained from certain suppliers on production of course receipt.

Term information

  • Date term started:25 Sep 2019 (starts in 125 days)
  • Duration:18 lessons - 18 lessons remaining
  • Places:14
  • Cost:£170.00 for term
  • Crèche available:No

Remaining dates and times (18 lessons)

Date Day Time
25 Sep 2019 Wednesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
02 Oct 2019 Wednesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
09 Oct 2019 Wednesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
23 Oct 2019 Wednesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
30 Oct 2019 Wednesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
06 Nov 2019 Wednesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
13 Nov 2019 Wednesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
20 Nov 2019 Wednesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
27 Nov 2019 Wednesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
04 Dec 2019 Wednesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
22 Jan 2020 Wednesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
29 Jan 2020 Wednesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
05 Feb 2020 Wednesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
19 Feb 2020 Wednesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
26 Feb 2020 Wednesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
04 Mar 2020 Wednesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
11 Mar 2020 Wednesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
18 Mar 2020 Wednesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm

Venue details

Carrickvale Community Centre

2 Saughton Mains Street
Edinburgh
EH11 3HH
Tel: 0131 443 6971
Email: cld-carrickvale@ea.edin.sch.uk
Website:

Disabled access

Bus Routes: Lothian 3,25, 30, 33, 35

View all activities at this venue

Community Learning

Go to the City of Edinburgh Council

www.joininedinburgh.org would like to store information (cookies) on your computer. By continuing to use this site, you consent to this.
More info