Login

Art(PR): Painting Acrylic - Intermediate - CAR15612

Share this activity

Next term start date

24 Sep 2019

Organisation

Adult Education Programme

Activity ref no: CAR15612

Disabled access

Book your place

From: Wednesday 7 August 2019: Book online anytime. Or: telephone; visit in person; between 10.00-16.00: Craigroyston Community High: (0131) 477 7801 (am only); Drummond Community High; (0131) 556 2651; Leith Academy (0131) 553 2810 (telephone only): South Bridge Resource Centre: (0131) 469 3005; or Wester Hailes Education Centre (0131) 621 83 16 (Mon-Thur 10.00-16.00, Fri 10.00-12.00), if a centre is busy, please try calling later

  • Carrickvale Community Centre
    2 Saughton Mains Street,
    Edinburgh
  • Adult Education Programme
  • 16+, Adult, 60+
  • £152.50 for term
  • Tuesday 13:00

Activity description

This course is for students who want to improve their abilities and develop new skills using acrylic paints. You will develop confidence in paint handling, colour mixing, brushwork and problem solving. Students will have the choice of working from their own images and ideas or joining in with the class theme. We will aim to look at a range of subject matter including still life, landscape, cityscape, the natural world. ENTRY REQUIREMENTS: Students should have some knowledge of acrylic paint, mixing techniques, composition and perspective WHAT YOU CAN EXPECT TO LEARN: By the end of the course students will have learned/be able to: - use acrylic paint confidently and creatively; - more expertly approach composition, drafting, perspective and colour mixing; - to use sketchbooks, photos, postcards etc for reference material and ideas based work; and - expand critical thinking. HOW THE COURSE WILL BE TAUGHT: Individual tuition for the most part with some weeks set aside to 'workshop' particular areas of interest. MATERIALS REQUIRED BY STUDENT; APPROXIMATE & ADDITIONAL COSTS: Acrylic paints (a basic set is fine and the tutor will recommend additional colours to supplement it); Palette; Boards/ primed paper/card/canvas to paint on; a range of brushes suitable for acrylic paint (try to have a mix of sizes and some flat heads and round or pointed heads); Jar for water; and rags or kitchen roll.

Term information

  • Date term started:24 Sep 2019 (starts in 124 days)
  • Duration:18 lessons - 18 lessons remaining
  • Places:14
  • Cost:£152.50 for term
  • Crèche available:No

Remaining dates and times (18 lessons)

Date Day Time
24 Sep 2019 Tuesday 01:00 pm - 03:30 pm
01 Oct 2019 Tuesday 01:00 pm - 03:30 pm
08 Oct 2019 Tuesday 01:00 pm - 03:30 pm
22 Oct 2019 Tuesday 01:00 pm - 03:30 pm
29 Oct 2019 Tuesday 01:00 pm - 03:30 pm
05 Nov 2019 Tuesday 01:00 pm - 03:30 pm
12 Nov 2019 Tuesday 01:00 pm - 03:30 pm
19 Nov 2019 Tuesday 01:00 pm - 03:30 pm
26 Nov 2019 Tuesday 01:00 pm - 03:30 pm
03 Dec 2019 Tuesday 01:00 pm - 03:30 pm
21 Jan 2020 Tuesday 01:00 pm - 03:30 pm
28 Jan 2020 Tuesday 01:00 pm - 03:30 pm
04 Feb 2020 Tuesday 01:00 pm - 03:30 pm
18 Feb 2020 Tuesday 01:00 pm - 03:30 pm
25 Feb 2020 Tuesday 01:00 pm - 03:30 pm
03 Mar 2020 Tuesday 01:00 pm - 03:30 pm
10 Mar 2020 Tuesday 01:00 pm - 03:30 pm
17 Mar 2020 Tuesday 01:00 pm - 03:30 pm

Venue details

Carrickvale Community Centre

2 Saughton Mains Street
Edinburgh
EH11 3HH
Tel: 0131 443 6971
Email: cld-carrickvale@ea.edin.sch.uk
Website:

Disabled access

Bus Routes: Lothian 3,25, 30, 33, 35

View all activities at this venue

Community Learning

Go to the City of Edinburgh Council

www.joininedinburgh.org would like to store information (cookies) on your computer. By continuing to use this site, you consent to this.
More info