Login

Art(PR): Watercolour - Intermediate - SBR17212

Share this activity

Next term start date

24 Sep 2019

Organisation

Adult Education Programme

Activity ref no: SBR17212

Disabled access

Book your place

From Wednesday 7 August 2019: Book online anytime. Or: Telephone; or visit in person, between 10.00am and 4.00pm: Craigroyston Community High: (0131) 477 7801 (am only); Drummond Community High: (0131) 556 2651; Leith Academy: (0131) 553 2810 (Telephone only); South Bridge Resource Centre: (0131) 469 3005; or Wester Hailes Education Centre: (0131) 621 8316 If a centre is busy, please try calling another.

  • South Bridge Resource Centre
    Infirmary Street,
    Edinburgh
  • Adult Education Programme
  • 16+, Adult, 60+
  • £152.50 for term
  • Tuesday 10:00

Activity description

ENTRY REQUIREMENTS: Some experience with watercolour is ideal, but working with acrylic and ink is also an advantage. General drawing skills desirable. WHAT YOU CAN EXPECT TO LEARN: By the end of the course students will have learned/be able to: - improve the quality of finished watercolour media, improved critical awareness; - improved confidence in general drawing and painting skills; - developed an understanding of tone, contrast, colour and composition; - been introduced to a variety of subject matter and a level of mixed media working; and - understand how best to express and interpret a chosen subject within their own style. HOW THE COURSE WILL BE TAUGHT: Talks, slides or posters and demonstrations will be used followed by individual discussion and guidance. Once a term, a trip to a gallery watercolour show or painting on location. MATERIALS REQUIRED BY STUDENT; APPROXIMATE & ADDITIONAL COSTS: For the first session, paper and watercolour sketch book plus drawing materials, eg pencils, rubber, watercolour paints. Optional additions of watercolour pencils, gouache and ink. New students may wish to wait until the course commences to purchase any further materials and also to confirm viability. Please note, discount can be obtained from certain suppliers on production of course receipt.

Term information

  • Date term started:24 Sep 2019 (starts in 124 days)
  • Duration:18 lessons - 18 lessons remaining
  • Places:14
  • Cost:£152.50 for term
  • Crèche available:No

Remaining dates and times (18 lessons)

Date Day Time
24 Sep 2019 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
01 Oct 2019 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
08 Oct 2019 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
22 Oct 2019 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
29 Oct 2019 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
05 Nov 2019 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
12 Nov 2019 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
19 Nov 2019 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
26 Nov 2019 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
03 Dec 2019 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
21 Jan 2020 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
28 Jan 2020 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
04 Feb 2020 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
18 Feb 2020 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
25 Feb 2020 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
03 Mar 2020 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
10 Mar 2020 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
17 Mar 2020 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm

Venue details

South Bridge Resource Centre

Infirmary Street
Edinburgh
EH1 1LT
Tel: 0131 556 2944
Email: cld-southbridge@ea.edin.sch.uk
Website:

Disabled access

Bus Routes: Lothian 3, 5, 7, 8, 31, 37, 47, 49

View all activities at this venue

Community Learning

Go to the City of Edinburgh Council

www.joininedinburgh.org would like to store information (cookies) on your computer. By continuing to use this site, you consent to this.
More info