Login

Art(PR): Drawing & Painting - Beginner - CAR12311

Share this activity

Next term start date

23 Sep 2019

Organisation

Adult Education Programme

Activity ref no: CAR12311

Disabled access

From Wednesday 7 August 2019: Book online anytime, or: Telephone: or visit in person, between 10.00am and 4.00pm: Craigroyston Community High: (0131) 477 7801 (am only Tue to Fri); Drummond Community High: (0131) 556 2651 (not Friday pm); Leith Academy: (0131) 553 2810 (Telephone only); South Bridge Resource Centre; (0131) 469 3005; or Wester Hailes Education Centre: (0131) 621 8316 (not Friday pm). If a centre is busy, please try calling another.

  • Carrickvale Community Centre
    2 Saughton Mains Street,
    Edinburgh
  • Adult Education Programme
  • 16+, Adult, 60+
  • £152.50 for term
  • Monday 10:00

Activity description

ENTRY REQUIREMENTS: None. Suitable for beginners. WHAT YOU CAN EXPECT TO LEARN: By the end of the course, students will have: - learned basic drawing skills (in various media); - an understanding of composition and perspective; - basic colour theory; and - a basic grounding in watercolour and pastels. GENERAL APPROACH TO THE COURSE: Each lesson begins with a demonstration and thereafter the student is given individual tuition. MATERIALS REQUIRED BY STUDENT/ADDITIONAL COSTS: Students should bring a sketchpad or cartridge paper, one 2B pencil, a putty rubber (£8 - £10 approximately) to the first session. However students may wish to wait until the course commences to get information/advice from the tutor before purchasing costly materials and also to confirm viability of the course.

Term information

  • Date term started:23 Sep 2019 (starts in 36 days)
  • Duration:18 lessons - 18 lessons remaining
  • Places:14
  • Crèche available:No

Price type

  • Standard price
    £152.50
  • Concession
    £85.00
    • 16 or 17 years old
    • 60+, retired, and not in employment.
    • Disability Living Allowance (DLA), PIP or Carer's Allowance
    • Full time student.
  • Reduced
    £44.50
    • Council Tax Reduction Scheme (NB: Not single person/occupancy discount)
    • Employment Support Allowance
    • Housing Benefit
    • Incapacity Benefit
    • Income Based Jobseekers Allowance
    • Income Support
    • NASS Support
    • Pension Credit
    • Universal Credit
    • Working Tax Credit

Remaining dates and times (18 lessons)

Date Day Time
23 Sep 2019 Monday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
30 Sep 2019 Monday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
07 Oct 2019 Monday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
21 Oct 2019 Monday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
28 Oct 2019 Monday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
04 Nov 2019 Monday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
11 Nov 2019 Monday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
18 Nov 2019 Monday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
25 Nov 2019 Monday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
02 Dec 2019 Monday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
20 Jan 2020 Monday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
27 Jan 2020 Monday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
03 Feb 2020 Monday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
17 Feb 2020 Monday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
24 Feb 2020 Monday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
02 Mar 2020 Monday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
09 Mar 2020 Monday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
16 Mar 2020 Monday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm

Venue details

Carrickvale Community Centre

2 Saughton Mains Street
Edinburgh
EH11 3HH
Tel: 0131 443 6971
Email: cld-carrickvale@ea.edin.sch.uk
Website:

Disabled access

Bus Routes: Lothian 3,25, 30, 33, 35

View all activities at this venue

Community Learning

Go to the City of Edinburgh Council

www.joininedinburgh.org would like to store information (cookies) on your computer. By continuing to use this site, you consent to this.
More info