Login

Gaelic - Intermediate - BHS38152

Share this activity

Next term start date

25 Sep 2019

Organisation

Adult Education Programme

Activity ref no: BHS38152

Disabled access

Book your place

This course is now cancelled.

  • Broughton High School
    Carrington Road,
    Edinburgh
  • Adult Education Programme
  • 16+, Adult, 60+
  • £135.00 for term
  • Wednesday 19:00

Activity description

This course aims to build on the vocabulary covered at Post Beginner level, and develop further confidence and fluency in the language. Emphasis is placed on the spoken word, but any important grammatical points arising will be explained. This course is an interactive and enjoyable way of learning a new language and will be a useful grounding for students thinking of progressing to study at the Higher (Learner) level. ENTRY REQUIREMENTS: The student ideally should have completed the Adult Education Post Beginner course, or an amount of study equating to around 40 hours of class work at that level. WHAT YOU CAN EXPECT TO LEARN: By the end of the course students will be able to: - grasp the main points of clear speech on familiar matters; - read with understanding a moderate range of texts in everyday language; - converse on routine everyday and personal matters; and - - write short notes and personal letters. GENERAL APPROACH TO THE COURSE: A structured series of lessons will be followed, with vocabulary and key phrases thoroughly drilled at each stage. Exercises, and role-play extensively to encourage student/ tutor dialogue. Games, songs, short stories, play-lets and poems introduced as appropriate. Audio and video available to reinforce class work. MATERIALS REQUIRED BY STUDENTS: Handouts supplied free. A suitable text/reference book (which should not cost more than approx £10) will be discussed at the first session of the course.

Term information

This term has been cancelled

  • Date term started:25 Sep 2019 (starts in 3 days)
  • Duration:18 lessons - 18 lessons remaining
  • Places:16
  • Cost:£135.00 for term
  • Crèche available:No

Remaining dates and times (18 lessons)

Date Day Time
25 Sep 2019 Wednesday 07:00 pm - 09:00 pm
02 Oct 2019 Wednesday 07:00 pm - 09:00 pm
09 Oct 2019 Wednesday 07:00 pm - 09:00 pm
23 Oct 2019 Wednesday 07:00 pm - 09:00 pm
30 Oct 2019 Wednesday 07:00 pm - 09:00 pm
06 Nov 2019 Wednesday 07:00 pm - 09:00 pm
13 Nov 2019 Wednesday 07:00 pm - 09:00 pm
20 Nov 2019 Wednesday 07:00 pm - 09:00 pm
27 Nov 2019 Wednesday 07:00 pm - 09:00 pm
04 Dec 2019 Wednesday 07:00 pm - 09:00 pm
22 Jan 2020 Wednesday 07:00 pm - 09:00 pm
29 Jan 2020 Wednesday 07:00 pm - 09:00 pm
05 Feb 2020 Wednesday 07:00 pm - 09:00 pm
19 Feb 2020 Wednesday 07:00 pm - 09:00 pm
26 Feb 2020 Wednesday 07:00 pm - 09:00 pm
04 Mar 2020 Wednesday 07:00 pm - 09:00 pm
11 Mar 2020 Wednesday 07:00 pm - 09:00 pm
18 Mar 2020 Wednesday 07:00 pm - 09:00 pm

Venue details

Broughton High School

Carrington Road
Edinburgh
EH4 1EG
Tel: 0131 556 7978
Email: adult.education@edinburgh.gov.uk
Website:

Disabled access

Bus Routes:

View all activities at this venue

Community Learning

Go to the City of Edinburgh Council

www.joininedinburgh.org would like to store information (cookies) on your computer. By continuing to use this site, you consent to this.
More info