Login

Gaelic - Advanced - TOL42512X

Share this activity

Next term start date

25 Sep 2018

Organisation

Adult Education Programme

Activity ref no: TOL42512X

Disabled access

From Wednesday 8 August 2018: Book online, or contact course provider

  • Tollcross Community Centre
    117 Fountainbridge,
    Edinburgh
  • Adult Education Programme
  • 16+, Adult, 60+
  • £108.00 for term
  • Tuesday 10:00

Activity description

Don’t be afraid of the “advanced” title! The course is ideal for those of us who need more practice at speaking. Because Gaelic is an oral culture, it is so important to create opportunities for speaking and listening and that is what we will aim to achieve. ENTRY REQUIREMENTS: This course is for those who have studied Gaelic for more than three years. You will have a good basic understanding of the language but may be less confident in speaking. A willingness to work in groups and to support each others’ learning are key to the oral approach of the course. LEARNING OUTCOMES: By the end of the course students will have learned/be able to: - recite and/or sing rhythmic Gaelic verses - Confidently follow Gaelic learners’ programmes on radio - Converse in Gaelic with fellow students on a range of topics - Use online resources in Gaelic to enrich vocabulary, knowledge of song and poetry and to tune in to Gaelic dialects. HOW THE COURSE WILL BE TAUGHT: The tutor will invite students to contribute to the curriculum when the course begins and at regular intervals throughout. Working in small groups, students will build shared interests through Gaelic, with tutor support at group and one-to-one level. Gaelic reading texts and some grammar support will be provided. MATERIALS REQUIRED BY STUDENT; APPROXIMATE & ADDITIONAL COSTS: A good Gaelic dictionary, access to internet and radio.

Term information

  • Date term started:25 Sep 2018 (starts in 37 days)
  • Duration:18 lessons - 18 lessons remaining
  • Places:16
  • Crèche available:No

Price type

  • Standard price
    £108.00
  • Reduced
    £54.00
    • 16 or 17 years old
    • 60+, retired, and not in employment.
    • Disability Living Allowance (DLA), PIP or Carer's Allowance
    • Full time student.
  • Concession
    £20.00
    • Council Tax Reduction Scheme (NB: Not single person/occupancy discount)
    • Employment Support Allowance
    • Housing Benefit
    • Incapacity Benefit
    • Income Based Jobseekers Allowance
    • Income Support
    • NASS Support
    • Pension Credit
    • Universal Credit
    • Working Tax Credit

Remaining dates and times (18 lessons)

Date Day Time
25 Sep 2018 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
02 Oct 2018 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
09 Oct 2018 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
23 Oct 2018 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
30 Oct 2018 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
06 Nov 2018 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
13 Nov 2018 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
20 Nov 2018 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
27 Nov 2018 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
04 Dec 2018 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
22 Jan 2019 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
29 Jan 2019 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
05 Feb 2019 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
19 Feb 2019 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
26 Feb 2019 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
05 Mar 2019 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
12 Mar 2019 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
19 Mar 2019 Tuesday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm

Venue details

Tollcross Community Centre

117 Fountainbridge
Edinburgh
EH3 9QG
Tel: 0131 221 5800
Email: cld-tollcross@ea.edin.sch.uk
Website:

Disabled access

Bus Routes: Lothian 1, 2, 10, 11, 15, 16, 24, 34, 35, 36, 47

View all activities at this venue

Community Learning

Go to the City of Edinburgh Council

www.joininedinburgh.org would like to store information (cookies) on your computer. By continuing to use this site, you consent to this.
More info