Login

Gaelic - Post Beginner - TOL42311X

Share this activity

Organisation

Adult Education Programme

Activity ref no: TOL42311X

Book your place

This course is now cancelled.

  • Tollcross Community Centre
    117 Fountainbridge,
    Edinburgh
  • Adult Education Programme
  • 16+, Adult, 60+
  • £108.00 for term
  • Monday 10:00

Activity description

ENTRY REQUIREMENTS: Students should have completed the Adult Education Beginner course, or undertaken the equivalent of about 40 hours of Gaelic learning aimed at Beginner level. WHAT YOU CAN EXPECT TO LEARN: By the end of the course students will be able to: - catch main points in simple clear spoken announcements; - converse on short simple routine matters; - recite or sing short poems or songs in a group; - read short simple texts; and -write short notes and a personal letter. HOW THE COURSE WILL BE TAUGHT: Following on from Beginners Gaelic you will begin to create your own sentences and conversation, through structured exercises that build confidence in the spoken language. Working in small groups and pairs, the class will cover basic use of verbs in Gaelic, sentence structure and a little grammer. In the second part of the course you will practise writing short pieces on a variety of topics. We will also explore the story of the Gaelic language and people in Scotland through song and oral lore. MATERIALS REQUIRED BY STUDENT; APPROX/ADDITIONAL COSTS: Handouts for each class will be provided. A suitable text book and dictionary (which should not cost more than £12) will be discussed at start-up of course.

Term information

This term has been cancelled

  • Date term started:24 Sep 2018 (22 days ago)
  • Duration:18 lessons - 15 lessons remaining
  • Places:16
  • Cost:£108.00 for term
  • Crèche available:No

Remaining dates and times (15 lessons)

Date Day Time
22 Oct 2018 Monday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
29 Oct 2018 Monday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
05 Nov 2018 Monday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
12 Nov 2018 Monday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
19 Nov 2018 Monday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
26 Nov 2018 Monday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
03 Dec 2018 Monday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
21 Jan 2019 Monday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
28 Jan 2019 Monday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
04 Feb 2019 Monday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
18 Feb 2019 Monday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
25 Feb 2019 Monday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
04 Mar 2019 Monday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
11 Mar 2019 Monday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
18 Mar 2019 Monday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm

Venue details

Tollcross Community Centre

117 Fountainbridge
Edinburgh
EH3 9QG
Tel: 0131 221 5800
Email: cld-tollcross@ea.edin.sch.uk
Website:

Bus Routes: Lothian 1, 2, 10, 11, 15, 16, 24, 34, 35, 36, 47

View all activities at this venue

Community Learning

Go to the City of Edinburgh Council

www.joininedinburgh.org would like to store information (cookies) on your computer. By continuing to use this site, you consent to this.
More info