Login

Exercise: Pilates - Beginner - CCC38314J

Share this activity

Next term start date

25 Jan 2018

Organisation

Adult Education Programme

Activity ref no: CCC38314J

Disabled access

Book your place

From Monday 18 December 2017: Book online, or contact course provider.

  • Craigentinny Community Centre
    9 Loaning Road,
    Edinburgh
  • Adult Education Programme
  • 16+, Adult, 60+
  • £42.00 for term
  • Thursday 10:00

Activity description

ENTRY REQUIREMENTS: No prior experience of Pilates necessary. WHAT YOU CAN EXPECT TO LEARN: By the end of the course students will have learned/be able to: - the foundations of Pilates technique and a variety of Pilates mat work exercises; - have a greater awareness of their body and how it moves; - have increased core strength and stability; - find a more efficient and neutral postural alignment; - have increased mobility and flexibility; and - have better control of their body in everyday life. HOW THE COURSE WILL BE TAUGHT: This term will start with the basics of Pilates, in order to provide sound technique from the start. It will focus on breathing, stability and mobility to support movement, and strengthening the core muscles through relaxation and focus. Exercises will be introduced and built upon throughout the term, gradually increasing in difficulty as the groups’ technique and strength improve. MATERIALS REQUIRED BY STUDENT/ADDITIONAL COSTS: Students should wear comfortable, close fitting clothes that allow you to move easily. Bare feet or socks only – no shoes or trainers. Please bring own yoga/Pilates mat, and water.

Term information

  • Date term started:25 Jan 2018 (starts in 40 days)
  • Duration:14 lessons - 14 lessons remaining
  • Places:15
  • Cost:£42.00 for term
  • Crèche available:No

Remaining dates and times (14 lessons)

Date Day Time
25 Jan 2018 Thursday 10:00 am - 11:00 am
01 Feb 2018 Thursday 10:00 am - 11:00 am
08 Feb 2018 Thursday 10:00 am - 11:00 am
22 Feb 2018 Thursday 10:00 am - 11:00 am
01 Mar 2018 Thursday 10:00 am - 11:00 am
08 Mar 2018 Thursday 10:00 am - 11:00 am
15 Mar 2018 Thursday 10:00 am - 11:00 am
22 Mar 2018 Thursday 10:00 am - 11:00 am
29 Mar 2018 Thursday 10:00 am - 11:00 am
19 Apr 2018 Thursday 10:00 am - 11:00 am
26 Apr 2018 Thursday 10:00 am - 11:00 am
03 May 2018 Thursday 10:00 am - 11:00 am
10 May 2018 Thursday 10:00 am - 11:00 am
17 May 2018 Thursday 10:00 am - 11:00 am

Venue details

Craigentinny Community Centre

9 Loaning Road
Edinburgh
EH7 6JE
Tel: 0131 661 9404
Email: Donna.Melrose@ea.edin.sch.uk
Website:

Disabled access

Bus Routes: Lothian 2, 21, 25, 34, 49

View all activities at this venue

Community Learning

Go to the City of Edinburgh Council

www.joininedinburgh.org would like to store information (cookies) on your computer. By continuing to use this site, you consent to this.
More info